Beer Journal: Dewar’s White Label

Yes, I know Scotch is not a beer, but I didn’t feel like creating a new category.  I normally avoid hard liquor but I realized I needed to be a good Presbyterian and drink Scotch. I didn’t want to splurge, which meant all of the good single malts were out.   I saw a good deal on Dewar’s White Label.

Pros:

1.  Fairly cheap, but it isn’t rotgut.
2.  Mixes well with soda and quite good over rocks.

Cons:

1.  Disgusting if taken straight.
2.  Doesn’t have a heavy peaty taste normally associated with Scotch.

2 comments on “Beer Journal: Dewar’s White Label

  1. Benjamin P. Glaser says:

    My wife’s maiden name is “Dewar” so I am required by law to drink it.

    But a good, inexpensive, scotch is Glenmorangie.

  2. John Bugay says:

    http://www.bugaywines.com. Proprietor is John Bugay. Not a relative, that I am aware of. But it’s pretty cool having a whole brand of wines named after yourself.

Comments are closed.