What is wrong with this picture?

(can be yours for the nice low price of $873)

or this

Church Dogmatics, 14 Volumes   -     By: Karl Barth
(the whole set can be yours for around $140)

The Barth series is literally cheaper than the paper it is printed on.  Yes, I know Hendrickson has this special ability to print stuff like this, but still…

The Reformed Institutional Elites have no grounds on which to criticize young students for not getting a good foundation in Reformed Dogmatics (and alternatively, pursuing Barth) when it is literally impossible for them to do so.

4 comments on “What is wrong with this picture?

  1. I have read parts of Muller’s PRRD, but not whole volumes (and none since I do not live near a theological library). I have little hope of doing so in the near future.

    • Olaf's Axe says:

      I bought volumes 1 and 2 for fairly cheap during seminary. I read through both of them in the past two years. I requested (and surprisingly received) volume 3 from the local library. I read it last fall. I plan on reading volume 4 this spring. Volume 1 is the best since it deals with epistemology and stops a lot of Barth’s wackier reading on the sources (Barth was wrong historically, even if he made some good observations).

  2. Andrew says:

    I got the full set of PRRD for £80 (so about $120) 5 or so years ago. They went out of print shortly after I believe. I still need to read the 3rd and 4th volumes. I hope to re-read volume 1 sometime this year.

    I’ve read very little Barth. I still don’t have the inclination to buy his books. There’s so much to read and it’s hard to know where to start.

  3. Christian says:

    Someone has been trying to sell the whole set on eBay for about $400 for quite some time. Another seller has vol. 2 for about $20, also on sale for quite some time. I take it that certain of the volumes are much more rare than others.

Comments are closed.