I listened to the Clark Carlton lecture on essence/energies

I have had several people email me and ask me to listen to Clark Carlton’s lectures on the Essence and Energies of God.  I did.  I’m glad I did.  For the most part it didn’t tell me anything I didn’t already know.  If you’ve read Meyendorff, Bradshaw, and Farrell, you can see where it is going.  Plus, he had done several radio shows on these very points some years ago.   On the other hand, Carlton did highlight some finer points that I knew but hadn’t really reflected on.  There is some veiled “West-bashing” but he doesn’t dwell on it.

He correctly locates the discussion around our knowledge of God.  I still think Palamas’s claiming the persons are hyperousia, and basically are replaced by the energies, is deeply problematic, and Carlton should have focused more on that, but he does mention a few key points that are usually passed over.   I’ll do a summary and evaluation later.

2 comments on “I listened to the Clark Carlton lecture on essence/energies

  1. Daniel says:

    Did you listen to the Q & A?

    • Olaf's Axe says:

      Not yet. I’m currently reading The Triads right now, along with several monographs on Palamas. I will give my larger thoughts on Carlton’s talk when I finish with Palamas.

Comments are closed.