Reformed “Rap”

I normally don’t cover (or care) about intra-mural Reformed stuff like this, but it does raise a few points on Christian liberty, cultural relevance, and such.   NCFIC (National Council of Family Integrated Churches) panel was asked what they thought of “Reformed Rap.”  They gave the typical white, fundamentalist response.  Their response, which was untactful apart from whether it was right or wrong, drew a firestorm.]

I’ve never listened to Reformed Rap for the same reason I don’t listen to any form of Christian music:  it is B- quality with usually better lyrics.   Occassionally I will listen to some Western-ish gospel-ish music, but even then it ain’t no Hank Jr.  So, I don’t see anything wrong with listening to Christianese music.

While I think much of rap is an inferior art form, I have some rap songs on my iPod for when I work out.   As long as the lyrics aren’t cursing or talking about “capping hoes,” I don’t see the problem.    Of course, there are arguments that the musical background of Baroque is superior to the modern pop culture, and I think a case can be made for that.   But I don’t think Christian rap, so-called, is a sin.

And then there is the problem that Botkin is associated with some of the worst aspects of Vision Forum culture (and this is stuff before the recent scandal).  I expected Morecraft to share a panel with Botkin, but I was surprised at Beeke’s presence.

6 comments on “Reformed “Rap”

  1. Andrew says:

    The fascination with ‘Reformed Rap’ or ‘Christian Rap’ is a mystery to me. I just don’t get it. I have listened to a little Reformed Rap in an (perhaps, lackluster) attempt to find out but it was pretty dire stuff (at least what I listened to).

    What I really irks is the mawkish talk about ‘redeeming rap for Christ’ and the like. Ugh. People are welcome to write, perform, listen to it if that’s what they want to do of course but it’s the need to make it more than it is that gets on my nerves.

    • I have a fairly jaded view of “winning the culture for Christ.” I suppose it can be done, but still…

      • Andrew says:

        I’m never sure what that phrase means. Not that I am opposed to transformationalism as such. Rap and hip-hop seems to me to be a fad. The people promoting it are the same kind of people that use phrases like ‘winning the culture for Christ’ or fad words like ‘missional’ and ‘intentional’ a lot. These things are almost membership badges. I find it all very boring.

  2. Angela Wittman says:

    This silly firestorm over Reformed rap astounds me… Don’t we have bigger fish to fry? I think the problem with the patriarchy and theonomy movements might very well be their majoring in the minors – so to speak. How silly we must look to outsiders! It’s as though we live in a ghetto. 😦

  3. Agree with Angela. This is such a massive waste of time (the need of a panel to discuss it and the disjointed and vitriolic response to the panel).

  4. Ditto to Angela and Ben. Carl Trueman has made similar points about Neo-Calvinist types – they spend far too much time wrangling about matters which are either largely trivial or just a matter of common sense. Organise a panel to talk about “Reformed rap” and half the world wants to know about it; organise a panel to talk about the Trinity or Christology and nobody cares.

Comments are closed.