Blog to check out: The Anglican Parson

Excellent stuff here on Calvinism from someone who used to be Orthodox and thoroughly knows both Orthodoxy and Augustinianism.  What particularly struck me with much force was this:

When we sin and repent, the pastoral answer should not be to impose a penance, but to encourage that repentance FOLLOWED by an announcement of why we should rejoice:  “GOOD NEWS! Christ died for that sin…

The “Anglican Catholic” pastor, along with the Roman Catholic pastor, the Orthodox pastor, and the Arminian Protestant pastor, has no such Good News to tell the penitent.  “If you do not master that sin, it could eventually result in your damnation.”  And the former three add, “Make sure you always come to me for confession and absolution, or else your eternal soul is at risk.”

If my readers want to know why I write so passionately (and sometimes angrily), or why I am so eager to enter into the controversies that I have with (Anglo, Roman and Orthodox) Catholics and liberal Protestants, I’ll simply say that I follow St. Paul in being a stickler for the Gospel.  And because I am a stickler, I want to name everything that so easily distracts us from or dilutes the Gospel, things like  “Christian” mysticism, monkish asceticism, theosis without a propitiatory atonement, liturgical exactitude, aestheticism (“smells and bells”), an inordinate devotion to philosophical theology, ethnic culture clubs posing as churches, humanism, modernism, feminism, ad nauseam.

Traditional Anglicanism vs. Eastern Orthodoxy (of course, I am not advocating Anglicanism.  Church govt issues simply play too big a role).

5 comments on “Blog to check out: The Anglican Parson

  1. Benjamin P. Glaser says:

    Richard Sibbes has come back from the dead! 🙂

  2. An Orthodox priest should not be ordering penance at confession. We don’t do that. They only say a prayer of absolution. Confession is good for the soul.

    This guy sounds like he is lumping a whole bunch of traditions into one.

    • John says:

      Wait… what? He shouldn’t be giving penance at confession? Why not?

      • Well, it depends in what is meant by penance. When I think of RC penance I think an assigned amount of Our Fathers or Hail Marys. We don’t get assignments.

        If by penance you mean sorrow, confession, and absolution then yes.

  3. I’ve heard of Orthodox priests doing both, though I think Andrew is correct.

Comments are closed.