On why I was moderately interested in the royal birth

So why should we care?  The English monarchy doesn’t do anything and we are Americans.  I think the following reasons are worth noting:

  1. For once someone wasn’t talking about Trayvon and how evil white people are.
  2. I would rather see the news talking about monarchies than the Kardashians (go find the famous CS Lewis quote to this effect).
  3. For all of its values, a republican government isn’t self-evidently the best.  Monarchy can function as an epistemological critique on this decline of the American order.
  4. As someone who believes in the Solemn League & Covenant, even if I cannot approve of the Royal family’s religious views, I feel politically connected to them, even if in a negative ay.
4 comments on “On why I was moderately interested in the royal birth

  1. Del Kabong says:

    Queen Elizabeth gave her blessing to gay marriage, so she matters.

    • right. my larger point is that despite any good or bad things the royal family says, they are connected with Anglo-Reformed Christians and do not exist vis-a-vis us in a vacuum

      • Del Kabong says:

        The British Crown is as important to the Reformed Faith as the conseil administratif of Geneva. The SL&C is dead and the world moved on centuries ago.

  2. Galatians 3:15

    Brethren, I speak after the manner of men; Though it be but a man’s covenant, yet if it be confirmed, no man disannulleth, or addeth thereto.

Comments are closed.