Thoughts on the New Russia

Among those who’ve switched to Orthodoxy is a renewed interest in Russia as the new focal point of truth, order, and civilization.   While that thesis is admittedly strange at first, it bears pondering for a moment.  I will consider the thesis, urge one to reflect on some legitimate insights it makes, then severely qualify it and suggest that its proponents are projecting their own values onto Russia and Putin.

Pros

  1. It is true that the Bilderbergs, an institution of Satan if there ever were one, hates Putin and wants his destruction.  (There has been some evidence of attempted assassination plots.)  Russian leaders are not invited to Bilderberg conferences.
  2. Russia opposes the satanic designs of Hillary Clinton and neo-liberalism.  American taxpayers on the other hand are forced to finance these plans despite their wishes.
  3. Contrary to how American leadership acts, Russia is a beacon of stability in the Middle East.
  4. Russia’s victory over the Israeli- and American-led Georgian army probably stopped World War III.

But consider this
(The convertskii have not seriously considered the problems that the New Russia faces)

  1. While it is true that there is a renewed interest in Orthodoxy among Russians, it seems it is too little, too late.   While there was a spike in the numbers in the 2000s, that has tapered off for now.
  2. Putin is a liberal, not a conservative and certainly not a nationalist.  It was Hackard’s article that really stopped me cold in my tracks in early 2012.
  3. While conservative Russians may share some of your values on sex and abortion, would you really feel at home if dropped off in Moscow?  Cultural values are not simply checking off a list on topics like abortion and homosexuality.  It is embodying the traditions of an ethnos, and these traditions are not interchangeable always with other cultures.
  4. Do you really plan on learning Russian? It’s hard for Westerners, and I say this as someone who is good at languages.

 

6 comments on “Thoughts on the New Russia

  1. Eric Castleman says:

    I have only met pro Russia Orthodox people online. I have never heard Russia mentioned by an Orthodox preist, or laymen in my time in Orthodoxy in person. I have however, asked my priest his views on Russia and Orthodoxy, and he said that Orthodoxy in Russia has a long ways to go, and that we should be catious of admiring Putin. Perry, also is a vocal opponent towards the converts in Orthodoxy who put Russia in some utopian outlook. I agree. People should love Orthodoxy for what it is, and not some form, that they call Orthodoxy.

  2. This is one of the few areas in which I tentatively agree with Perry, though Perry would probably balk at my take on the Bilderbergs, etc.

  3. Eric Castleman says:

    Me personally, when I dive into any forms of conspiracy, I usually try to separate them from what is realistic. I have what I call my “utopian political theory” and what I like to call my “what is actually possible political theory”. My utopian view holds some forms of distributism and free market economics, and my other side is somewhat republican, and living day to day in this suffering we all share in lol. So, we can all have our own views I guess.

  4. I’ve backed off on some conspiracy views. Some facts , though, are simply undeniable (Jekyll Island, Freemasonry’s oath to Satan, etc). I have better things to do than go down that route. Plus, most conspiracy theorists are kooky to the extent they make Farrell look normal.

  5. Eric Castleman says:

    I don’t see a problem with reading those things. I personally just decide to prioritize what is really important in my daily life with my family, and what it is that I can do to help other in my area. Also, when I let conspiracy grab such a hold of me in the past, I noticed that I was starting to think I was the only one that had it figured out.

    Yes, there definitely are things that are true in the conspiracy realm.

Comments are closed.