The Sacred Heart of Zwingli?

McGrath notes somewhere that legends sprang up about Zwingli after his death in battle.  The catholic armies burned his corpse and desecrated it, but the faithful discovered a few days later Zwingli’s beating heart still intact.

Is this miracle story legit?  Why not?  Can we apply the same criteria across the board?

8 comments on “The Sacred Heart of Zwingli?

  1. olivianus says:

    I have got to say that seeing your comments about me on the Orthodo Bridge Website are a bit frustrating. I have seen you use a number of my arguments on this website and it seems you read through my writings frequently. If that is so, why then do you complain about my “rhetoric” to others behind my back? Maybe if you didn’t like my rhetoric that you would stop reading my work that cost me many years of my life, my career for the second time and was earned through extreme mental anguish. I have to say I am a bit frustrated by all the office holders in Presbyterian demominations contacting me in private and telling me that I’m right on issues that they refuse to make public in their own churches. So on all sides I am being used by grown men for their personal entertainment while they shame me in public.

    • I’ve been reflecting on some of my “comments.” While I refuse to go back to orthodox bridge and read the comment box, all I remember saying was that our styles of rhetoric were different–which they are. That’s not a moral judgment.

      Again, while if I’ve caused offense, then I apologize, but maybe you should consider why almost every theological website of any tradition all come to similar conclusions about your “style.”

  2. My apologies, Drake. I shouldn’t have said that. ON the ther other hand, i was physical drained those view days and got tired of the 15 vs 1 commenting and said things I should not have.

    • You are a man alone vs. those Orthodox fellows, Jacob. With your knowledge, I am sure it can be enticing to go ask questions over there. I hope your daughter is in good health – you are in my prayers.

      Peace,
      Andrew

      PS I like the pics you loaded publicly on facebook – you have a beautiful family! Back to the topic at hand…Let me think about what you are saying about Zwingli and miracles, and I will get back to you. In the meantime, I need to get out and golf in a few hours… 🙂

  3. Hi Jacob,

    I apologize – but I really don’t understand what you are driving at in this post. Can you elaborate here publicly or in an e-mail to me? I think maybe you are responding to some other person’s blogs or comments? Basically, my understanding is, you are wondering whether a story about Zwingli’s heart, after his death, was still beating? And whether this is a miracle?

    Yeah, I’m confused what the point is – but that’s probably just me. I’m nowhere near as knowledgeable as you and some other folks I’ve found since I started reading blogs a few months ago.

    Peace,
    Andrew

  4. jnorm says:

    I’m not a cessationist, nor am I a secularist, and so why must a non-cessationist deny what happened?

    Exodus 7:11-12
    “Pharaoh then summoned wise men and sorcerers, and the Egyptian magicians also did the same things by their secret arts: Each one threw down his staff and it became a snake. But Aaron’s staff swallowed up their staffs.”

    Was Zwingli’s Faith in continuity with the Christian Historic Faith? How strong was the continuity? How weak was the continuity?

    This is what I would like to know! For the issue of acceptance vs rejection is one of discernment and not a universal one size fits all rule.

  5. I understand the criteria you are offering, but replace Zwingli’s narrative (which is fictional, btw; it is in some history books but few take it seriously) with the Fatima nonsense in Roman Catholic circles. They could claim, by their own metanarrative, the continuity you are seeking.

  6. […] By what criteria do we affirm that your miracle stories are true and mine are not?  (And for the record, I affirm the stories to be […]

Comments are closed.