Genesis, Creation, and Early Man

This is likely the next book I am getting.

http://stherman.com/Catalog/Writings_of_Father_Seraphim/genesis_book.htm

Several of my Orthodox friends have been attacking Blessed Seraphim, some even calling the “Young Earth Creation” as “stupid.”  (It gets really funny in the debate when I start lining up holy fathers who espoused something like it!).

I’ve held off buying it because I’ve been interested in the “paleophysics” school for a few years.   After watching it dive off, not simply into wackiness (which is no different from the modern University system), but into apostasy, it’s time to call it for what it is.  More on this later

(While rejecting paleophysics per se, I am not rejecting all forays into alternative ancient history.  I still think it is silly to say that a bunch of loincloth slaves built the pyramids;  yes, yes, I know, affirming this makes me a “Sitchenite,” or something like that, which I am not).

5 comments on “Genesis, Creation, and Early Man

  1. Chris S says:

    Interesting. I’ve been listening to the Farrell interviews and even reading his *Cosmic War* book. He may be the best that the so-called “alternative community” has to offer and, if so, his sloppiness in some areas is not promising.

    • Chetnik1945 says:

      One other thing about Farrell: I am fully on board with his theology project–God, History, and Dialectic (granted, it is an exposition of Fr John Romanides’ own project). Farrell’s book on St Maximus the Confessor completely destroyed Calvinism (it’s a shame the book is out of print).

      Farrell’s ability to summarize difficult information, and frame that summary in a logically skillful manner, is probably the best I have ever seen (and that includes Greg Bahnsen!). So whenever I quote Farrell, it is in regard to his theology, or his analysis of American politics.

  2. Eric Castleman says:

    I tip my hat to you. I am not well read on paleophysics, but it is always good to see someone able to entertain an idea, without excepting it. Palephysics, from what I understand, is something I am just not able to keep my attention on. In such matters as the creation account, I completely rely on the early church on such matters. This is after being a fan of Kline for about ten years, and even going to meetings with fellow Kline followers.

    • Chetnik1945 says:

      The problem with many of Farrell’s speculations are they are just that. That’s not a bad thing, and certainly more believable than fairy tales like evolution, but I feel that they are often confusing models for explaining data for the data itself.

  3. Chetnik1945 says:

    I was never much interested in the Cosmic War aspect of his project. It’s a viable thesis, to be sure, but it is merely a model. Of course, some of the conclusions he draws regarding modern politics and such are spot on.

    Farrell is also the most gifted communicator I have read, and I read him to improve my own rhetorical skill (or lack of).

Comments are closed.